Suunto Traverse Alpha Review | Team Backcountry

We’ve been using Suunto watches for years and the Traverse Alpha is my favorite hunting watch.

If you would rather read a review of the Traverse Alpha, check it out on our website:

Suunto Traverse Alpha Review

To learn more about the Suunto Traverse Alpha on Suunto’s website, click the link below:
http://www.suunto.com/en-US/Products/Sports-Watches/Suunto-Traverse-Alpha/suunto-traverse-alpha-concrete/

Check out some of our other videos to learn how to transfer POI’s from your Suunto watch onto Google Earth, and vice versa.

50 Comments

  1. Matti S on September 16, 2019 at 8:02 pm

    Use alcohol hand sanitizer for the strap. Very effective and does no damage to the strap!

  2. John Smith on September 16, 2019 at 8:02 pm

    what about for a daily wear… this ok ? thanks

  3. Stephan Jenkins on September 16, 2019 at 8:02 pm

    I have the Shinto traverse alpha and I honestly just use the gps for speed to find myself and revert to maps. As a watch it’s really cool but I should learn how to use it. Especially since it was not a cheap piece of kit.

  4. AR9fy on September 16, 2019 at 8:04 pm

    4 ads during your review. You must be desperate. I will not click on your vids again

  5. Mal Miller on September 16, 2019 at 8:05 pm

    Great video. Thanks

  6. Carlo Paglialunga on September 16, 2019 at 8:06 pm

    Suunto Traverse Alpha has no Tide Graph ?….if its a Fishing watch it needs the Tides ?..

  7. Thelegendhaha on September 16, 2019 at 8:08 pm

    Nice review thanks. Mine arrived today and I’m looking forward to getting out in the mountains with it 👍🏼

  8. Pedro Soares on September 16, 2019 at 8:09 pm

    Hi i’ve got a question: when you are in POI navigation mode it is possible to have a warning when you got close to the POI or getting away from it?

  9. Luke Metallic on September 16, 2019 at 8:10 pm

    What’s the difference between the alpha and the normal traverse

  10. sairous nina on September 16, 2019 at 8:11 pm

    hey there really nice video, if i may ask, does this watch have auto-repeat countdown(like casio gshock)?

  11. David P on September 16, 2019 at 8:13 pm

    Question about the compass… you have it in Degrees, is it possible to change it over to milliradian? we use Mils in the canadian army.

  12. Mike Allmon on September 16, 2019 at 8:15 pm

    Wash the watch band with antibacterial soap after activities to reduce smell from bacteria buildup.

  13. devendati on September 16, 2019 at 8:16 pm

    Great review!

  14. Paul Hovey on September 16, 2019 at 8:16 pm

    I just bought one … I have had some trouble pairing and have yet to get HR going. — Blown away that you can with the Movescount App you can make a movie of your hike or whatever and play it back on your Phone or Laptop !!

  15. Phil P on September 16, 2019 at 8:19 pm

    My first Suunto was a Core.  Then I got the Ambit 2.  Now…darnit…I need to get the Traverse Alpha.

  16. MrKeys57 on September 16, 2019 at 8:21 pm

    Cant you just wash the strap, from time to time? its textile, isnt it? – i have done that with Nato bands

  17. Mike Allmon on September 16, 2019 at 8:23 pm

    Good review and excellent watch. Had mine for over a year now. The only downside is the moves application. Application crashes continuously. The app also doesnt correlate with watch features. But your review was about the watch.

  18. Carl Weiderick on September 16, 2019 at 8:24 pm

    Great watch! Great review! Thanks! I might have to get one.

  19. silver xxvi on September 16, 2019 at 8:24 pm

    Can I export the recorded route as a GPX file to PC (to view on a mapping app like MemoryMap)?
    This would allow me to leave the mobile phone (or Garmin GPS unit) at home and just wear a watch if I didn’t need to view a detailed map en-route.

  20. Ted Morente on September 16, 2019 at 8:24 pm

    could you just wash the strap?

  21. robin hood on September 16, 2019 at 8:26 pm

    how long batery life if gps system on?

  22. Get Lost on September 16, 2019 at 8:27 pm

    Can u set magnetic declination on this compass mode?

  23. rpsimons58 on September 16, 2019 at 8:27 pm

    I just bought this. Need to learn how to drop “bread crumbs” when I hike in the woods or chase down a wounded deer so I can find my way back.

  24. Warrant Division on September 16, 2019 at 8:28 pm

    Just shower with it and no more stank.

  25. 1986mrcrj on September 16, 2019 at 8:31 pm

    I take a toothbrush an dish detergent and clean my band. It seems to help so far.

  26. Neil Rischl on September 16, 2019 at 8:33 pm

    Is there a watch like this with no GPS. I hate plastic btw.

  27. Tuu Rask on September 16, 2019 at 8:33 pm

    What’s the lug width? Blu Shark makes amazing straps

  28. james c on September 16, 2019 at 8:33 pm

    Can you set it up for regular time instead of military for Pete sakes

  29. Jerry Woller on September 16, 2019 at 8:33 pm

    This is by far the best Suunto Traverse review I have seen and I have been looking for weeks. Now I just have to wait until my birthday….

  30. John V on September 16, 2019 at 8:34 pm

    How do you sort the points of interest? They are in the order I added not alphabetical order. Easier for me to find if they points of interest are alphabetical.

  31. Steven Henein on September 16, 2019 at 8:34 pm

    My traverse alpha is a piece of shit!! It won’t receive notifications from my Huawei p20 pro. Suunto customer service has been giving me the run around for over 6 months! They have no plan to fix it!!!! #suunto #suuntosucks

  32. weavel020 on September 16, 2019 at 8:34 pm

    Does this watch have its own heart rate monitor built it?

  33. zebratruck on September 16, 2019 at 8:35 pm

    Can you change this watch to not read military time?

  34. Jørgen J. on September 16, 2019 at 8:35 pm

    Thank u for the nice video 😉

  35. Lagerwelt on September 16, 2019 at 8:36 pm

    Thanks, waiting for mine to arrive.

  36. Thys Dreyer on September 16, 2019 at 8:41 pm

    Learned all i need to know from your video , thanks for sharing . One question i cant seem to find an answer to is what charger is best to use with this watch ? I have a samsung note 8 and it comes standard with the "fast charging" charger . Will it end up damaging my watch battery or would you say its safe to use ?

  37. gianky073 on September 16, 2019 at 8:42 pm

    Great watch! i have a traverse too and i love it during my hiking! ❤

  38. hishy2009 on September 16, 2019 at 8:44 pm

    Man, simply the strap needs a good wash and leave it to air dry, don’t wear it wet.

  39. nubix on September 16, 2019 at 8:46 pm

    The main thing with those watches is the limited battery life. If they had solar like the better Casio G-Shocks i’d probably buy one.

  40. kris Rodriguez on September 16, 2019 at 8:48 pm

    Nice Video! Suunto Traverse Alpha Crew!

  41. keelan on September 16, 2019 at 8:49 pm

    Does any of the metal touch your skin? Reason why I’m asking is I have a nickel allergy and it looks as though only the Velcro band and composite back actually touch the wrist.

  42. Ufuk Koca on September 16, 2019 at 8:51 pm

    Hey, great watch and video. I got some questions to buy it for engineering operations. First how is the accuracy of the gps, i mean sensitivity? What about durability, i work at a mining site with rocks? And last how about daily use, i had a g shock right now and don’t take it off even in the shower?

  43. JEEPDAD on September 16, 2019 at 8:51 pm

    I am having major difficulty with my compass. Maybe I’m doing something wrong.

    Can you help?

  44. Jesus Escareno on September 16, 2019 at 8:53 pm

    Is this watch good for military use?

  45. Michael Conniff on September 16, 2019 at 8:53 pm

    If you cross a dateline, time zone, or daylight savings time. Do you still have to set the time manually?

  46. Kim Patton on September 16, 2019 at 8:54 pm

    Very helpful. Getting ready to hike a 14 er with my new watch

  47. Justin Fisher on September 16, 2019 at 8:55 pm

    I have one of these but It seems like you have more exp. with the watch. As it relates to routes, is there an ETA based off current pace or miles left till end of route/next way point displayed anywhere?

  48. Nick semrick on September 16, 2019 at 8:58 pm

    Best review I have found for this watch. Thank you so much.

  49. LIL CEAS on September 16, 2019 at 9:01 pm

    Sick watch i just bought a suunto core all blk for $40 brand new i think i want the traverse now

  50. Manitou on September 16, 2019 at 9:01 pm

    great piece of gear

    thanks for the upload

Leave a Comment